Oman suspends entry of travelers from 10 countries amid COVID-19 surge

Oman suspends entry of travelers from 10 countries amid COVID-19 surge

Oman has suspended the entry of people coming from 10 countries for two weeks as the Sultanate steps up efforts to curb the resurgence of coronavirus in the country.

The move, which comes into effect from 12 a.m. on Feb. 25 (Thursday), was taken by the country’s supreme committee to deal with coronavirus headed by Interior Minister Hamoud bin Faisal Al Busaidi during a high-level meeting on Monday.

The decision will affect passengers coming from the following countries: Brazil, Ghana, Guinea, Ethiopia, Lebanon, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Sudan, South Africa and Tanzania.

In a statement carried by the Oman News Agency, the supreme committee said that the suspension of entry will also be applicable to those coming from any other country if they had passed through any of the 10 countries during the 14 days preceding the application to enter the Sultanate, starting at 12 a.m. on Thursday for a period of 15 days.


The move exempts Omani citizens, diplomats, health workers and their families who will be subject to necessary procedures approved upon entering Oman, the statement added.

The committee also urged citizens and residents to avoid travel during the coming period unless if it absolutely necessary.

About QatarScoop Author

Check Also

Man pockets diamond lost in Dubai hotel; cops recover it in 4 hours

Public urged to hand over any lost documents or precious materials, if found, to the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar