Friday , April 10 2020
Home / OFW / List Of Countries Where Filipinos Cannot Work

List Of Countries Where Filipinos Cannot Work

The Philippine Overseas Employment Authority (POEA) has alerted Filipino expats across the world that 24 countries are still ‘off-limits’ to the Filipino workers (OFWs) in 2018.

According to the POEA notification, the list of countries has been banned due to unsuitable security and economic conditions.

“Except when specified, the coverage of this advisory shall apply to land-based deployment and will remain valid unless updated by subsequent issuance(s),” the POEA said.

The countries that were banned due to the unstable situation were – Afghanistan, Somalia, Sudan (except Khartoum and Kenana Sugar Plantation in the White Nile), Great Lakes Region (Rwanda and Burundi), Syria, Yemen, Iraq, and Chechnya Republic.

Meanwhile, South Sudan, Iraqi Kurdistan Region, Libya and Ukraine fell under an existing partial deployment ban.

In a partial deployment ban, new OFWs are prohibited from going to the listed countries. Returning OFWs are still allowed to work there provided they comply with certain conditions laid down by the government.

The list also features 11 nations, which were not certified by the Department Foreign Affairs (DFA) as compliant to Republic Act 10022 or the Amended Migrant Workers Act.

Those countries were Afghanistan, Chad, Cuba, North Korea, Haiti, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Palestine, Somalia and Zimbabwe.

About Abishek

Check Also

Children And Dad Ask Their OFW Woman In Macau To Stop Posting And Sending Photos Of Her New Boyfriend

An OFW is isolated from loved ones for a majority of their time and its …

Skip to toolbar