Tuesday , November 21 2017
Home / Social Media / Two New features To Make WhatsApp More User Friendly

Two New features To Make WhatsApp More User Friendly

Photo: Qatar Living

WhatsApp has totally changed the social networking world and has brought people closer virtually. One of the prime factors for its success is its immense security, ease to use and constant improvements.

WhatsApp has recently added two new features and it will make the app more user friendly.

Unsend/delete a message you have already sent

This is one of the most important addition the messaging service will be making, giving the users the ability to delete the messages they have sent by mistake. This feature is gradually being rolled out across its one billion users and will be available for phones based on Android, iOS and Windows systems.

The messages can be deleted both in individual and group chats. However, the feature is still in development phase.

When you ‘unsend’ a message, the recipient will see a post that says ‘This message was deleted.’ So while the recipient will not be able to read what the message was, he or she would still know you had deleted a message.

To ‘unsend’ a message, you simply need to push down on it in the conversation and select the trash can icon from the menu. Then you should tap on ‘Delete for everyone’ to recall the message.

The message will then disappear from both the sender and receiver’s phone, including the notification centre. The messages should be deleted within seven minutes of sending in order to delete it and the receiver should also be updated to the latest version of the app.

Share your live location with friends

The emergence of Google Maps and other location-apps have made a massive difference to the way people move around.

WhatsApp has added live location sharing feature to enable users to share their location in real-time. The end-to-end encrypted feature lets you control who you share the location with and for how long. You can choose to stop sharing at any time or let the Live Location timer simply expire.

Here’s how it works. Open a chat with the person or group you want to share with. Under ‘Location’ in the attach button, there’s a new option to ‘Share Live Location.’ Choose for how long you want to share and tap send. Each person in the chat will be able to see your real-time location on a map. And if more than one person shares their Live Location in the group, all locations will be visible on the same map.

Have you updated your WhatsApp?

About Abishek

Check Also

Don’t Respond To Scam Messages Like This From ‘Sarah’

The name of Sarah has been used to dupe unsuspecting parents into handing over all …

Skip to toolbar