Tuesday , October 23 2018
Home / Qatar / Qatar E-Visa Can Be Availed By The Citizens Of 242 Countries

Qatar E-Visa Can Be Availed By The Citizens Of 242 Countries

The e-visa system has been approved to the citizens of 242 countries by Qatar, the online platform was launched in June to ease foreigners’ access to Qatar.

The system will accept applications from travellers who wish to visit Qatar. The move comes as a result of the Qatar National Tourism Sector Strategy review process, in partnership with stakeholders and partners from the public and private sectors.

Tourist visa applications can be completed on the new e-visa platform at www.qatarvisaservice.com While the citizens of 80 countries are eligible for visa-free entry in Doha, they can apply for a pre-approved visa online to save time on arrival.

Citizens of 242 countries can apply for a tourist visa online by paying a visa fee of $27.78 and service charge of $14, which are non-refundable for both successful and denied applications.

Photos: Gulf Times

The type of visa will be selected by the system depending upon the length of applicant’s stay, nationality and country of residence.

For eligible GCC residents, an appropriate visa type (GCC residents entry permit, GCC residents companion entry permit, or GCC nationals companion entry permit) will automatically be offered by the system.

“Applications can be made a maximum of 90 days or minimum of four working days prior to travel. Qatar Airways, Qatar Tourism Authority and VFS Global recommend you to apply as early in advance as possible,” the website states.

Applicants should provide machine readable passports with a minimum validity of six months, children endorsed on parents’ passport cannot apply using this system.

Applicants are also required to send “clear coloured electronic scans” of passport information, passport-size photo, airline ticket (Qatar Airways passengers are not required to submit their ticket copy), and hotel confirmation voucher/relevant documents for place of stay in Qatar.

GCC residents should provide a residence visa, ID, ticket and passport copy (for GCC nationals/residents companion entry permit only).

Applicants can also attach additional documents to make their case strong, like investments of $8,000 or more, income tax papers showing an annual gross income of $8,000 or more, evidence of travel in the last five years to Qatar (using services provided by the country) and valid visas to the UK, the US, Australia, New Zealand, Canada or Schengen countries.

In an important move, Qatar approved visa-free entry to citizens of 80 nationals, which will boost the tourism, hospitality and retail sector in the country and also promote Qatar on global map as a ‘more open’ country in the region.

Qatar Airways Group chief executive Akbar al-Baker stated that the citizens of these 80 countries will be able enter the country “with no paper work, no payment and no visas.”

“This historic announcement comes at a time of historic significance. While some countries in the region have taken to closing their skies and their borders, Qatar has instead opened its borders to more freely welcoming visitors from all corners of the world,” he said.

About Abishek

Check Also

Emir To Meet US President Trump In Washington Today

Emir HH Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani will be meeting US president Donald Trump …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar